Memoir: The day I spoke in tongues…for the first time.


The baptism of the Holy Spirit with the  evidence of speaking in tongues is a new testament experience that I craved for for a very long time. As one who was born into the church, I had heard and seen people speak in the heavenly languageas well as read and heard of so many testimonies that happened because they prayed in the spirit. I had also been taught in church and other christain gatherings of the benefits of speaking in tongues. When i became saved in september 2013, i began craving for this gift that the Lord has for His children. I went for altar calls of those in need of the baptism and other prayer gatherings. However, i still could not speak in tongues. At a time, i tink i was even trying to manipulate the Holy Spirit to baptise me(one of those funny things we do to get this baptism) but it did not work. I wrote of one of my very funny experiences here.  Many other times of trying to speak and asking and praying but still it didnt happen until one day…

It happened in my second year during my ND program at Yabatech. Pastor Kumuyi was coming to Yaba area for a program and the sports complex of my school was the venue. All campus fellowships’ workers and excos were to be available to assist the church with whatever help we could render. As such, they held a pre-program for us to get us ready and tell us our duties during the day. The pre-Program was on a friday which was two days before the main program.

I went to market that evening to buy some stuff and returned just when the pre-program was about to start. I wanted to just go back to my hostel, cook my food, eat and sleep but i met the president of another fellowship who was kinda my freind and she told me to mk sure i come that she wants to see me there. So i obeyed. Went up, dropped everything i bought, picked up my bible and went to the chapel. (I purposely did nt take a scarf even though i knew it was a deeper life program i was going for. I wasnt in the mood for the program). 

In the chapel, the pre-program which i thought would be all about talks and strategies was turned to a prayer meeting. The cordinator began by praying, then asked us all to pray. He raised some prayer points and at a time, he began praying in the spirit. The atmosphere was charged and people were screaming in prayer, some falling under some annointing. But me, i just knelt down where i was staying and continued praying. I didnt want o even ask for the baptism in the Holy Ghost then as i was not ready to fall down under the annointing that day. I just wanted a simple prayer and to get going. That period, i had so many problems in my relationships with so many people and i knew God wanted better from me. I was tired of the struggles i had in these relationships. I wanted to be better. So on my knees, i began asking God for a change of heart towards these people and to help me have better relationships. I was so sincere in my asking and soon i had teary eyes. The next thing, i began speaking something i couldnt decipher. It was a twin three syllable word. Then i spoke longer words. I continued speaking as i could not even stop. Oh what joy. God was baptizing me with His Holy Spirit and I didnt have to fall and roll on the floor and there would never be any need for that again. Haha. I kept speaking and praying. And i felt a release in my spirit. A release concerning all my relationship problems. I knew God was addresing that issue. I felt light inside me. The prayer was long and i prayed and prayed until the prayer session ended. I was blessed. Then the cordinator gave a ljttle talk about our roles on the d-day. 

As i left the chapel, i thanked God for making me obey to be present and wondered how long again i would have waited for this baptism if i didn’t attend that program that day. Two days later which was the day of the main program, i was very tired and needed to sleep cos i didnt sleep a wink the previous night. So i couldnt go for the main program. Later, God dropped it in me heart that the baptism was my birthday gift (my birthday was 20 days before the pre-program and i didnt even ask for that. Talk about a Father who gives good gifts to His children).  What a gift! 

Today, almost two years of being baptized, I am not where i want to be in my spiritual walk as regards praying in the spirit but im definitely better than when i started. Sometimes i stretch myself in prayers and other times i slack. But ive done myself good to surround myself with people who constantly remind me  that im to improve in that area and so i put myself to the task. 

Lessons learnt:

1. Obedience is priceless. You never know what God can do because you obeyed. 

2. Focusing more on God yields so many great return. I just wanted to be better at showing God’s love in my relationships. I asked for that with a sincere heart. I got more. 

Do you also crave for this baptism? It really takes a hunger for it plus a right heart. Dont relent. Keep craving. Keep asking. Keep praying. Its a gift to the children and God doesnt withhold good things from us. So you will get it. 

Do you have experiences of the Holy Spirit baptism and you? Pls share with us. 

Leave a comment